2016 Champions Review

IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car Champion - Robert Vetter

MESQUITE, Tx. (January 30th, 2017) – With most racers believing that winning races leads to a championship, in 2016, Robert Vetter proved there is more than one race to win. Robert Vetter, of Wolfe City, TX, did eclipse two feature wins on the year in weekly RPM action, but lead the year in heat race wins at six. Heat races, though not awarding cash prizes, awarded points for the top five of the finishing order. Vetter was also the only driver to compete in every single weekly racing event (14) in 2016 at RPM, boosting eight top five finishes and thirteen top ten finishes.

     Eventual IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car National Champion, Andy Shouse, made the trip to RPM eight times, picking up five feature wins, six top five finishes, and seven top ten finishes. Shouse would still end up 680 points behind Vetter in the final standings. Vetter used a mix of early-night dominance, with consistency, and the ability to win on any given night, to take home the 2016 RPM Speedway IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car Championship.

USRA Modified Champion - Bobby Ruffin

Bobby Ruffin of Crandall, Texas had a strong showing in 2016 at his hometown track. Ruffin lead the field in feature wins (4), heat wins (5), top five finishes (12), top ten finishes (14), and also had the highest average finish within the top 5 in final standings (3.64). This feat was even more impressive due to the fact Ruffin competed in 14 events in 2016, and never finished outside of the top ten. The 121 car of Ruffin, has always been at the front of the quick quarter-mile, but was challenged throughout the year by Forney’s Charlie Smith in 3c. Ruffin in the end, was able to best Smith by 550 points to claim the 2016 RPM Speedway USRA Modified Championship.

USA Limited Modified and Factory Stock Champion - Ronnie Sigman & Jason Troutman

The former RPM Speedway Co-Promoters came into the 2016 racing season with the mentality to race for fun. Most regular fans would have favored repeat championships in both divisions, Tommy Davis Jr. in USA Limited Modifieds and Chris Davis in the Factory Stocks (2015 Champions). However, as the season went on, Ronnie Sigman & Jason Troutman quickly let the USA Limited Modified and Factory Stock drivers know that they were ones to contend with.

               Sigman, in past years, competed in the highly competitive USRA Modified division, and also has a history for racing with some of the top talents in the DFW Area, in several variations of the Modified division. Coming into the 2016 year, Sigman transitioned to the USA Limited Modified platform with ease. The Robert Clark-owned, 25c machine picked up the win on the second night of the year, with Troutman (racing both Limited Modifieds & Factory Stocks) tailed Sigman to the checkered. Sigman went on to claim three wins on the year, with eleven top five finishes in just fifteen starts. Sigman was challenged for the top spot by defending Champion Tommy Davis Jr., fate would sideline TDJ with a non-racing injury during the season. Davis Jr. would go on to miss 5 nights during this injury, and that would lead to a 580 point gap at seasons end to Sigman.


Jason Troutman, ran twenty-five races in 2016 between USA Limited Modified and Factory Stock competition, picking up a total of eight main event wins along the way. Five of the eight main events were captured in the Factory Stock division, paving the way to his 2016 Factory Stock Championship. Not only did the Sunnyvale Texan’ show strong in the win column, but Troutman finished in the top ten twelve times in thirteen starts. Troutman also topped the division in average finish at 4.31. 2015 Champion, Chris Davis, of Wills Point, TX, was a rocket-ship in 2016 on a weekly basis at the RPM Speedway. Davis was seemingly on his way to repeating as Champion, but after multiple instances in the claim department, Davis was relegated out of the Championship hunt. Jeff Sonntag ended up finishing 260 points behind Troutman in second, with no main event wins, but thirteen top ten finishes, out of fifteen starts.

Winged A-Class Champion - Weston Gorham

Weston Gorham, of Colleyville, TX, is a young racer with a load of talent. Not only did the racer take his first career IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car main event win in 2016, but he was also able to add a Championship at the RPM Speedway. The Winged A-Class ran a limited schedule in 2016 at RPM, with only eight nights slated on the year. During those eight nights, Gorham racked up eight top ten finishes, seven top five finishes, and three wins. Gorham also posted the highest average finish on the year of 3.00. Colton Corbin made an appearance at each of the eight events, leaving the track with seven top five finishes, eight top ten finishes, but was unable to capture a win. Corbin would end up 230 points behind Gorham by seasons end.